The Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. We are a nationally accredited Main Street Community, and are associated with the North Carolina Main Street Center. 
The DSDC works to promote downtown as the place to live, work and shop. We offer support to business and property owners within our district through a variety of programs.
The majority of our organization’s funding is provided by a Municipal Service District (MSD), made up of 18 blocks in Downtown Smithfield. We also receive funding from the Town of Smithfield, as well as grant-making organizations, sponsors, and private donors.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is to develop and maintain an economically vital, socially active and visually attractive downtown for Smithfield’s current and future citizens.

Vision Statement

Nestled between the serenity of the Neuse River and the vitality of Interstate 95, Downtown Smithfield is the center of government, enhanced by thriving, independently-owned businesses.  A destination for the arts, history, shopping, dining, entertainment, and recreation, Downtown Smithfield is the cultural center of the community.

Board of Directors

The DSDC is governed by a Board of Directors made up of 15 members.  Directors are drawn from the downtown community of property and business owners as well as from the community at large. In nominating board members, an effort is made to include every interest that can bring resource and knowledge to the table in service of the organization’s mission. Two board members are ex-officio members: the Mayor of the Town of Smithfield and the Chairman of the Johnston County Board of Commissioners, or their appointees.  The following individuals currently serve as board members:
President Troy Brindle, The Gilded Pear Brew House
Vice President Julia Narron
Treasurer Jeremy Pearce
Dr. David Barbour
John Bilott, The Twisted Willow
Jan Branch
Kay Kennedy, Kennedy Properties
Stuart Lee
Brittany Lucas, The Dragonfly Boutique
Mary Reece, Reece & Reece
Katie Smith
Suzanne Taylor, Oak City Collection
Michelle Vergburgt, J&M Assortment
Ex-Officio Members
Michael Scott, Town of Smithfield Town Manager
Patrick Harris, Johnston County Commissioner
To email the Board of Directors, please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
From time to time, opportunities for board membership arise.  Board members serve three-year staggered terms, are expected to attend monthly board meetings, serve on a committee, and take an active role in the organization.  For more information about board member responsibilities, click here. Board member applications are available here.
Minutes from previous board meetings are available here once they have been approved by the Board.


The DSDC is staffed by a full-time Executive Director.
Sarah Edwards
Executive Director

Office Location

The office of the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is located in the historic Hastings House at 200 South Front Street beside the Town Commons Park and the Neuse River.
As a Main Street America Affiliate™, the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is part of a national network of more than 1,200 neighborhoods and communities that share both a commitment to creating high-quality places and to building stronger communities through preservation-based economic development.
Community ms vertical color logoSmithfield is a North Carolina Main Street community, designated by the N.C. Department of Commerce Main Street & Rural Planning Center. The Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is charged with administering the program at the local level and building public-private partnerships to spur economic development that achieves measurable results such as investment, business growth, and job creation.